DCBOE announces winners in ANC 4C08 and 4C04 races

Final vote count as certified by DC Board of Elections.

The DC Board of Elections has certified the vote count in the November 6, 2018 general election, and of particular interest to Petworth ANC 4C is the Single Member District 4C08, held by Timothy Jones.

According to DCBOE, Timothy Jones won the seat that he’s held for quite some time, beating back a last minute challenge by write-in candidate Leah Anderson.

The final tally was 440 votes for Jones, and 450 votes for write-in candidates, with Jones taking the plurality of votes (he had the most votes out of all votes for one person received, including write-in names). DCBOE won’t release the final count for the write-in names without a FOIA request (Freedom of Information Act), so the final count is not currently available for how many votes Ms Anderson received.

A recount is possible if Ms. Anderson requests it within 7 days of today’s certification and pays for it, otherwise Jones is the winner of 4C08. (Unlike most other elections in DC, in ANC races a recount is not automatically triggered by a 1% difference in vote count.)

In 4C04, there were no official candidates on the ballet, so write-in candidate Nora Simon won the seat with some percentage of the 160 votes cast for that Single Member District.

Related Articles