Nominate a Cop for MPD’s Community-Oriented Policing Award

Policing the District of Columbia isn’t an easy job, and being good at connecting with the community can be even harder. It takes a special kind of officer, one with an easy-going personality and a willingness to serve the neighborhood as a guardian instead of an enforcer.

MPD is looking for those officers and asking for nominations by the community for the 2015 Community-Oriented Policing Award. They want your nominations

“Do you know a member of MPD who provided outstanding police service and/or truly exemplifies community oriented policing? If so, let us know!”
- MPD email

While Fourth District officers in Petworth have done a great job this year, for me, the following officers have gone above and beyond to connect with the community and deserve a little extra attention — and your vote:

Our two Petworth PSA Lieutenants, Anthony Washington (407) and Raul Figueras (404). Both LTs have worked hard to be available to residents at community meetings and in following-up and responding quickly to email and resident concerns. (Commander Manlapaz also deserves recognition for his availability and presence at community meetings and responsiveness.)

Lieutenants Anthony Washington and Raul Figueras at the PSA 404/407 meeting.

And having seen them in action responding to calls and in dealing with the community in a very relaxed, one-to-one manner, I would also nominate Mountain Bike Patrol Officers Christopher Glascock and Eric Frost.

Bike patrol officers Christopher Glascock and Eric Frost at the Petworth Jazz Project.

Who would you nominate? You make the decision -- but definitely take a few minutes to nominate a Petworth MPD officer.

The Community-Oriented Policing Award is to acknowledge outstanding service to the community in calendar year 2015.  The cut-off date for submissions is January 15, 2016. All nominations must be completed online.

The awardee will be honored along with additional members of the Metropolitan Police Department at the 16th Annual Awards Ceremony on Thursday, March 3, 2016.

Nominate an MPD Officer >